Research Areas

Below, you will find the research areas and contact information of our professors. If you are interested in doing research, please contact the professor directly.

Chris Archibald
archibald@cs.byu.edu
Strategic Reasoning GroupExploring how to reason and make decisions in the presence of multiple-agents, including teammates or adversaries. Evaluating performance of agents in these situations.
Mark Clement
clement@cs.byu.edu
Bioinformatics and Family HistoryPhylogenetic Analysis applied to diagnosing Alzheimer’s disease from DNA samples, and developing Relative Finder and Descendancy Explorer.
Jacob Crandall
crandall@cs.byu.edu
AI, Machine Learning, Multi-Agent SystemsDeveloping machines and algorithms that learn from and collaborate with people to solve challenging problems.
Casey Deccio
casey@cs.byu.edu
Network Measurement and Anti-Abuse of InternetDirects the Internet Measurement and Anti-Abuse Laboratory at BYU. Focuses on aspects of the Domain Name System.
Parris Egbert
egbert@cs.byu.edu
3D GraphicsReal-time 3D Computer Graphics, Object-oriented Graphics, Vector field tools for CS and the Creation and Navigation of Virtual Environments.
Ryan Farrell
farrell@cs.byu.edu
Fine-Grained Visual CategorizationTraining computers to find the highly-localized and often subtle characteristics that allow precise identification at the level of fine-grained categories.
Nancy Fulda
nfulda@cs.byu.edu
DRAGN LabDRAGN Lab focuses on neural architectures for Conversational AI, in addition to machine learning, neural language models, and natural language understanding.
Kimball Germane
kimball@cs.byu.edu
Special WeaponsDesigning more powerful ways to mechanically analyze higher-order programs for correctness and performance. Also designing domain-specific languages which offer programmers domain-specific guarantees about their programs.
Michael Goodrich
mike@cs.byu.edu
Robotic Swarms and GUIsSimulated robotic swarms to assess steering effectiveness and energy expenditure, and GUIs for selecting trade-offs in multi-objective optimization problems.
Michael Jones
jones@cs.byu.edu
Emerging Technologies and User ExperienceInteractive computing in hiking and prototyping with 3D printers, circuits and software.
Tony Martinez
martinez@cs.byu.edu
Machine LearningImproved learning mechanisms for deep neural networks, document recognition and classification, and automatic composition of music.
Eric Mercer
egm@cs.byu.edu
Test and VerificationTest and verification in software engineering by pursuing automatic techniques for program verification for concurrent and sequential systems.
Bryan Morse
morse@cs.byu.edu
Computer VisionComputer vision with cross-overs into image processing, computer graphics, robotics, machine learning and high-performance computing.
Dennis Ng
ng@cs.byu.edu
Advanced Information Retrieval ApplicationsRecommending items for children using the collaborative-filtering approaches and developing interactive game systems designated for children/adults with autism.
Xinru Page
xinru@cs.byu.edu
Social Technology
and Privacy Lab
(STaPL)
STaPL is a human computer interaction lab that focuses on understanding
how people use social technologies. We design technologies that facilitate
social needs balanced against privacy and online safety in areas such as
social media, mobile, health and loT.
Kent Seamons
seamons@cs.byu.edu
Internet Security ResearchDesigns and evaluates security tools including; secure email, secure chat, two-factor authentication, key management, certificate revocation and TLS security.
Kevin Seppi
kseppi@cs.byu.edu
Applied Machine LearningSemi-supervised machine learning that allows users to give feedback as the machine picks topics for documents, to interact and gain information from large quantities of text.
Jonathan Sillito
sillito@cs.byu.edu
Engineering Intelligent SystemsFocuses on engineering and supporting distributed, high-throughput, low latency systems.
Quinn Snell
snell@cs.byu.edu
Computational ScienceInvestigates algorithms for solving problems in computational biology, chemistry and physics. Finding efficient algorithms that can be run on parallel computers.
Dan Ventura
ventura@cs.byu.edu
MIND LabHis main areas of interest include neural networks, machine learning, artificial intelligence, evolutionary computation and computational creativity.
Sean Warnick
sean@cs.byu.edu
IDeA LabsFocuses on fundamental relationships between information, uncertainty and complexity. Key issues include approximation, learning, control, verification and optimization.
David Wingate
wingated@cs.byu.edu
Perception, Control, and Cognition LabTheir goal is to build agents that perform at human levels in complex tasks; improved depth estimation for augmented reality and high-level linguistic planning.
Daniel Zappala
zappala@cs.byu.edu
Security and UsabilityMeasuring the prevalence of proxies that intercept TLS connections, and developing operating system services for authenticating and securing internet connections.